Nursery update (Week 3)


Week 3

Working on the nursery, I am a week behind so this is for week 16-20.  Week 2’s post went until Monday where we were driving home from Montana on our road trip.  So, I’ll start with..

Tuesday: Feeling pumped after the weekend and spending hours off and on during the trip thinking about the nursery (like unfinished business circling around my head)…. you could say we both were feeling pumped about our work week!  I already had the room drawn out so I was ready for the fun part, painting!  I got right to work on the colors.  Starting on brown and then lime green.  I decided to do more than one section at a time which required a little strategy.  Paint on the green first and there’s a lot of green.  Then do the brown parts, then the blue (which is the sky) but before I could do that, because there is a ‘rainbow’ in one of the sections which went up into the ceiling, I had to complete that first.  This required that I go over all the colors in the rainbow and I decided to take some creative initiative here with the most well known version of the rainbow.  In the book, she puts several colors together and makes it look like a ‘fairy-tale’ rainbow, but for the sake of any future questions (Mom what are the colors in the rainbow, followed by why is my rainbow not those colors?) I decided to go more realistic. 😉  This took all day about 8-9 hours.  I was able to work longer hours without feeling exhausted because of the breaks I took (lesson learned from week 2; see end of article)

Wednesday: More painting! I was really focused on finishing this painting of the room so I could start outlining.  I was able to conquer the painting part AND some outlining!  I was feeling pretty awesome and on fire!  The new strategy I’ve been using is really working well and I’m not feeling exhausted plus it’s now ready for when Nana comes over tomorrow and we go shopping for fabric!

Thursday: Nana came over today while I was finishing up the last section of the ‘outlining’ of the wall we talked about some ideas for picking out fabric.  Then we headed to Joann’s fabric and spent 3-4 hours looking over fabric and planning out ideas for the curtain and valance (for both the window and closet doors) and the basket that would be hanging on the wall.  We were so exhausted by the time Thursday night dinner-time and tonight our doula would be visiting and introducing herself to the family.  She spent an hour and a half going over her services, what she does, how she supports, etc.  It was a great experience and everyone agreed that this was something that would really help us through the pregnancy, especially my husband.  He’s already working 70+ hour weeks and it’s been 20 years since he’s done this sort of thing… a lot has changed since then! 🙂  Before getting pregnant, I wasn’t really thinking I’d ever be pregnant so I wasn’t prepared.  I’m pretty sure I avoided anything that had to do with pregnancy up until now so extra help is always wonderful!  In addition to all that, I’m a researcher.  This means that I pretty much would research everything there is to know about pregnancy: what to expect, what fears there are, what to do, etc. etc.  and my mind would be in a whirlwind and who knows what kind of fear I’d pick up along the way.  I’ve been avoiding this because I don’t want to have fear, I don’t believe it belongs in pregnancy.  Hiring a doula who believes that having a baby should be a positive experience, really helps me with this.  I was completely upfront and said I haven’t done a lot of research and I don’t really want to.  I’m really working hard on the research I have for the MNT program that I’m currently in, if I start getting into baby research, I’ll get side-tracked in the health nutrition, anatomy, physiology, etc..etc… enter Hire Doula!  I really have Nana to thank for all this as she’s been 100% all about Doula’s since we found out we were pregnant.

If you don’t know what a birthing Doula is, you should definitely check it out.  They really really help you through some of the hard decisions, educate you on what you need to know about, give you insight to your options, and support you in your decisions.  They also work to make it a really comfortable environment for you to give birth in, whether it’s at home, in a birthing center, or in a hospital.  The one we have gone with is named Tracy Coons you can check out her website if you are in the local area and interested in finding out more about Doula’s or are looking for a Doula. 🙂

Friday: Last night we did some major planning, this morning we put the planning together strategically.  I was really adamant about finishing at least ONE thing that we spent all that time doing yesterday and we both decided the easiest would be to work on the basket.  She worked her butt off on the basket while I finished outlining the rest of the room.  By the time I completed the outlining of the last section of the main wall, she was near complete with the basket.  We played around with it until it was perrrrfect and then a few more sewing and cutting and VOILÀ!  Beautiful!  This is the basket to the hot air balloon that I painted the first week.  It looks SO good!  I can’t wait to share it with you!!!!  The basket is a wire basket, we put in a unique burlap fabric (with purple polka dots!!) and a very very soft purple fabric on the inside.  Then we accented it with these crystals that hung off the edge.  It’s seriously perfect!  She did an outstanding job.  TEAMWORK ROCKS!

okay..

I’ll give you a SNEAK PEEK 2 of the Nursery. (hey it’s only fair, you’ve been so patient!)

Sneak Peek

Ahhh isn’t it so cute?!?!
She’ll be taking home the curtains and valance to work on as there are a lot of detailed things she has to sew together, but I can’t wait until she’s completed them!! AHHH! So excited!  Also, I can’t wait till this project is done so I can share it with you!  I know you’ve all been really anticipating seeing the project…

Saturday & Sunday: Scott had projects to work on for his job and I wanted to do some research for the business.  I learned a lot about food photography and you can see how I’ve applied that knowledge in the delicious recipe Zucchini Spaghetti & Meatballs.  If you haven’t tried making the recipe yet, I highly recommend that you give it a shot.  You will not be disappointed!!!


Lessons learned from week two of the nursery adventure

Tips for working while pregnant:

  1. Drink a glass of water every time you have to pee.  (yes, you may think you’ll have to pee a LOT but that’s the point.  It forces you to take breaks, which are incredibly important as well as making sure you drink plenty of water! )
  2. Everytime you drink water, grab a snack to eat.  This can be as simple as a spoonful of nut butter. 😉
  3. The second you feel hungry, eat and eat until you feel satisfied.  (make sure you sit down and take a break while eating, drink your water too)

Doing this helped me tremendously!  Week 2 was almost a nightmare on my emotional/physical exhaustion.  I didn’t eat as frequently as I needed to and I didn’t drink as much water as I needed.  It only made me more tired and less able to slow down.  Doing these 3 steps ensured that I was taking enough breaks, drinking enough water, and eating enough food. (i.e.  slowing myself down and allowing my body to replenish, refresh, and rest)

I can’t explain with enough emphasis just how well this works!  My emotional and physical ability were restored and I was able to be balanced and calm.  A very very important thing when you are pregnant as most people know how cranky pregnant women can get.  I think part of that ‘crankiness’ comes from the factor of trying to resume ‘normalcy’ while being pregnant.  There is no such thing as normalcy.  You literally have to re-define what that means and for some of us it’s harder than others.  Especially those of us who love to work.  Resting?  Yes, I sleep.  😉

Thanks for reading my blog!

JEM-Signature

Leave a Reply

