Pregnancy Update (30.79 weeks pregnant)


Wow!  It’s been almost 10 weeks since I posted a pregnancy update with picture.  Where has the time gone???  I have been ridiculously busy in trying to prepare for the baby (and you’ve heard from previous posts what I’ve been up to as far as creating a nursery with the mural, etc.) as well as working on what feels like 100 other projects simultaneously.  Here’s a picture update, I just took the picture.  I was looking for pictures I had taken since the 21st week and couldn’t find any!  I know I kept saying in my head, I gotta take a picture this week–but for one reason or another I just didn’t.  Here ya’ go!

Pregnancy- Week 30.74

Today I have an appointment with my naturopath doctor (ND) which I’m actually very excited about!  I get to look at the blood work results from the past 3 months, for me that’s very exciting.  🙂

The past 10 weeks have been riddled with obstacles and one of them was definitely the pregnancy itself.  Up until 2 weeks ago I was doing pretty good with my energy.  I’ve felt some drain on my energy a couple of days here and there sprinkled throughout the pregnancy but it usually went away after a couple of days.  Unfortunately, those days are over and I’m now feeling the pregnancy pretty much full throttle with no signs of slowing down.

Pregnancy yoga up till two weeks ago was pretty good, I felt energized after the sessions with only a slight ache the day after.  Two weeks ago I was in the middle of class and found myself checking the clock what seemed every 5 minutes.  When was it going to end?? I felt like I had been doing the class for hours only to find that 15 minutes had passed.  The class is only an hour and 15 minutes long, but still!  I caught myself looking up at one point (when there was still 30 minutes left) and as my eyes came back to the yoga class the woman next to me (who was also looking at the clock) says, “welcome to the third trimester”.  She is one week further along than me so it felt kinda good knowing that I wasn’t the only one suffering through the class.

Where is the energy?

The days pass…I have good days where I almost feel normal and other days when I am almost completely exhausted after doing two squats.  TWO squats.  I had been riding the recumbent bike for most of the pregnancy until the beginning of March when the movement was too much for me to appreciate.  I felt between nauseous and out of breath, which if you know me sucks even more because I LOVE off-road driving.  My husband attempted to take me off-roading for my birthday and made it maybe 400 ft. before I begged him to turn around with the saddest look on my face ever!  But, like I said there are good days and there are the ‘off-days’.  During Easter Sunday we took a drive to Mt. Rainier and did a little off-road driving and I did pretty good!

For the most part I’ve been really busy cooking, creating recipes, studying, food photography, business expenses, home expenses, school, studying, research, school, more school, clients, test research, clinical research, organizing, did I mention school? and purchasing things here and there to finish up the nursery and baby shopping.  The most recent purchase for the nursery were the crib mattress and the daybed mattress.  I was extremely picky about both as I wanted the mattresses to be safe (and all that entails) for her.

Infant/Child Mattresses

Most crib mattresses are covered with vinyl cover and contain off-gass from chemicals from the vinyl as well as fire retardants.  You can read more about the hazard of Vinyl Chloride here.  It’s even more important for infants and children to be sleeping in a non-toxic mattress because most infants actually sleep for 18 hours and because they are developing their bodies they are even more susceptible to the concentrations of off-gassing even more greater than an adult.  Also, there have been theories that blame SIDS on toxic bedding material and mattress material.  If you’re interested in reading up on that, intellibed (where I purchased the twin mattress from) has some information here.

There are a few great companies out there that offer options for infant mattress bedding and I strongly urge you to do research before purchasing a crib mattress.

If you’re looking for a good mattress for your crib, I recommend any one of the following:

(In order of cost, because organic crib mattresses can be pretty expensive-but worth it! Keep in mind that the price isn’t always monetary…)

  1. Quilted organic cotton & wool crib mattress  $259-$465
  2. intelliBEDmini Crib Mattress: $399 + Shipping
  3. All Wool Organic Mattress: $640 + shipping

The daybed mattress that I purchased is for when she moves out of the crib and into a bed.  I didn’t purchase one of those 9-in-1 cribs, they just weren’t for me.  I wanted her to end up having a daybed in her room with a trundle instead of a standard bed.  This way when Nana was staying the night or when she had a friend stay the night, they would have a place to sleep-but mostly the former.

The mattress I chose is a twin sized mattress that she’ll be able to use for the next 20 years.  It has a 20 year warranty and because you spend a lot of your life in bed it is incredible for your body.  In fact, it’s a better mattress then the local organic one we purchased just last year for ourselves-because it has intelli-gel.
It’s also organic, made with high quality materials and doesn’t contain any harmful chemicals, such as: Boric Acid (a toxin which causes skin irritation), Rayon (a synthetic fiber with various chemicals), antimony (attributes are very similar to arsenic which causes respiratory problems), Melamine resin (a form of formaldehyde), PCDE’s (a phased out fire retardant but many ‘older’ models still contain-before 2004.)

If you are in the market for looking for a bed for yourself; maybe you suffer from back pains, headaches, body aches, insomnia, and many other ailments (that can be linked to mattresses) I suggest checking this company out.  You can read about them, watch videos, or even call them and talk to their very knowledgeable staff.

Mattress company: Intellibed

This is the mattress we bought: Twin intellibed 20

I recommend you check out all the options and find which one is best for your needs. 🙂

Enough about mattresses although that has been a large portion of my life for a couple of those 10 weeks.  I was glad to finally purchase them and get it over with… now onto other things like dual electric breast pumps.

I do plan on breast-feeding but I know that I’ll need an electric breast pump for when we do travel as my goal is to breast feed for at least 1 year (with the introduction to puree food as well).  I don’t know exactly how it’s going to go, but it’s best to be prepared and if I’m going to get a breast pump, I might as well go with the dual one (as I hear from friends that it’s a lot easier to do both at the same time with the little yield at first).  I’m also going to make sure I have one just incase the breast-feeding doesn’t go as smoothly as planned as well as some back up options incase I’m not producing milk either.  (like a goat milk formula)  I am all about being prepared as much as I can be-though I really hope the breast-feeding works out!! 🙂

There is still so much to talk about but unfortunately that doctor’s appointment I mentioned earlier is coming up now and I have to leave for it.

This weekend I’ll be cracking away at the garage with the husband and trying my hardest to take it easy.  There’s a lot going on next week.  I will be posting more recipes too because lord only knows how many recipes I have to post.  Like for example Easter recipes!  A little late for that.. haha good thing I’ll be prepared for next year though and possibly a seasonal/holiday cookbook too.  Though I won’t get too far ahead of myself.  Right now, along with all the other things I’m working on I’m also putting together a cooking class for adults and kids.  It’s a nutritional educational/cooking class and I’m really excited about it!!

I hope everyone is doing well and thank you for reading my blog!! 🙂

If anyone has any recommendations for me please post in the comments section. 🙂

JEM-Signature

Leave a Reply

